Yeast Mother: An Electroacoustic Mass


supported by
Scott Eck
Scott Eck thumbnail
Scott Eck Very intriguing and addictive. To make something this "out there" and unique, while at the same time listenable is quite a feat! Great stuff. Favorite track: The Mother's Throat.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Includes a PDF booklet that features all art, release notes and photos for the EP.

      $4 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Comes in a six-panel digipak featuring artwork by Aesop Dekker.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Yeast Mother: An Electroacoustic Mass via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days

      $8.98 USD or more 




While renowned for his work as bassist for Agalloch and Sculptured, Jason Walton has also frequently ventured into other, stranger and more experimental regions over the past two decades, offering a range of baffling and captivatingly weird sounds with bands like Self Spiller, Especially Likely Sloth, and Nothing. And it's in that latter territory that we find the debut EP from Snares Of Sixes, his latest creation. On the band's debut EP Yeast Mother: An Electroacoustic Mass, Snares Of Sixes makes a bold and confounding introduction, tangling the listener in confusional, highly aggressive avant-prog. The genre-shredding sound taps into a warped confluence of frenzied King Crimson-esque progressive rock, faint traces of frayed, heavily mutated black metal, haunting atmospheric touches, and abrasive electronics, and the result leaves us deliriously disoriented.

With tracks like "Urine Hive", "Lions To Leeches", "The Mother's Throat", Walton and company lurch through an escalating, ever-shifting frenzy of creepy, labyrinthine melody and pummeling percussive chaos, over-modulated riffage and schizophrenic time signatures, where android mutterings give way to hideous blackened shrieks and bouts of bizarre crooning, the sound stitched with veins of crushing metallic heaviosity, fractured electronica, and surreal atmospherics as it reaches towards the menacing glitched-out tech-metal hallucination of "Retroperistalsis" that closes the EP.

Often difficult, frequently nightmarish, this stuff easily ranks as one of Walton's more challenging and oblique offerings. And for us, one of his most fascinating. Features Marius Sjøli and Robert Hunter (Hollow Branches), Andy Winter (Winds), Pete Lee (Lawnmower Deth), Nathanaël Larochette (Musk Ox), and Don Anderson (Agalloch, Sculptured), among others.

The CD edition comes in a six-panel digipak.


released May 5, 2017

Jason Walton - MIDI mangler, Synths, Vocals, Bass, Guitar, Melodica, Oscillators
Marius Sjoli - Vocals, Guitars, Synths
Robert Hunter - Vocals, Guitars
Martti Hill - Vocals
Andy Winter - Guitars
Nick Wusz - Vocals
Nick Loiacano - Vocals
Lawnmower Pete - Vocals
Nathanael Larochette - Guitars
Stephen Parker – Guitars

Don Anderson (Guitars) appears on "Retroperistalsis."



all rights reserved


Crucial Blast Hagerstown, Maryland

Crucial Blast is an independent underground label and online shop specializing in cutting edge, experimental heavy music and related cultural artifacts, with a particular focus on blackened avant-metal, nihilistic noise/industrial, dark ambiance, infernal psychedelia, and hardcore improv/free-jazz. ... more

contact / help

Contact Crucial Blast

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code